top of page

Sewing Projects for Your Home

Updated: May 11, 2020


When I was seven, my grandma helped my brother and I knit a sweater for my newborn sister. It was one of our favourite activities to do together. As I grew older, I had lost the skill, and forgot how content my mind and heart would feel in the process.

I later re-discovered the needle and the thread in sewing, as I started taking lessons while I was pregnant with my son. I was naturally drawn to it, the same way I felt drawn to dancing or being in nature - I knew it brings me a great feeling of wellbeing and I learned to better listen to and trust my instincts. I find that the more I find myself engaging in mindful experiences, the more I can clear out the "noise" and I am able to connect with myself and with my emotions - and it feel really good.

(bonus: learning a new skill such as sewing not only offers a medium for self-expression and creativity, which helps promote well-being, but it also prevents more items from going into the landfill by being able to re-use materials and items instead of going out to buy more. There is also a new appreciation that is gained for the work that goes behind creating textile items etc., and it can also create a path towards issues such as fast fashion and its impact on the environment as well as people)


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page